The Wave of River – Dr. Allama Iqbal

My restless heart doth never keep me still:
This inner core of me is mercury.
They call me wave. The ocean is my goal.
No chain of whirling eddy holdeth me.
My steed like air upon the water rides.
My garment’s hem on thorn of fish e’er tore,
When moon is full sometimes I leap all fey;
Sometimes all mad I dash my head on shore.
I am the pilgrim loving journey’s stage.
Why am I restless? If my heart make quest.
I flee from the cramped torment of the stream,
Away from the sea’s wide spaces, all
distressed.

[Translated by H.T. Sorley]

3 thoughts on “The Wave of River – Dr. Allama Iqbal

Share Your Thoughts

